Winlight System is a French company that designs and manufactures high-performance optical systems and components.

We primarily operate in the space, defense, astronomy and “big science” sectors. Winlight System’s technical expertise in the design and construction of state-of-the-art optical systems is recognized worldwide, including proprietary polishing technologies (molecular adhesion, high-precision polishing), as well as assembly and testing.

Acquired in 2017 by Bertin Technologies, a CNIM Group company, Winlight System bolsters its portfolio of high-performance optical and mechanical systems.

Winlight System’s capabilities are increasingly recognized worldwide, with a growing roster of customers in Asia, Europe and North America.


ISO 9001:2015 certified, Winlight is committed to providing the highest quality to its customers, in the rigorous management of all their projects.
Keeping such a level of excellence is our growth engine.

Technological excellence

Technological excellence guides everything we do, underpinning our position as a major player in the international market for optical systems.

Customer satisfaction

Our top priorities are obviously customer satisfaction and excellence, to guarantee that we deliver top-flight solutions and exemplary work at all levels.



  • Thales
  • Airbus Helicopters
  • Direction Générale de l’Armement (DGA)


  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • French space agency (CNES)
  • Thales
  • Airbus Defence and Space
  • Institut d’Astronomie Spatiale (IAS)
  • Laboratoire d’Astronomie de Marseille (LAM)
  • European Space Agency (ESA)


  • European Southern Observatory (ESO) – Germany
  • Laboratoire d’Astronomie de Marseille (LAM) – France
  • Observatoire de Lyon (CRAL) – France
  • Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées – France
  • Institut National des Sciences de l’Univers (INSU) – France
  • INAF – Italy
  • Centre National de Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) – France
  • Max-Planck Institute – Germany
  • Heidelberg University – Germany
  • NAOJ – Japan
  • Caltech – United States
  • University of California, Berkeley – United States
  • Weizeman Institute – Israel
  • UK ATC Edinburgh – Scotland


  • Centre français de rayonnement synchrotron (SOLEIL) – France
  • European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF) – France
  • ALBA – Spain
  • Shanghai Synchrotron Radiation Facility (SSRF) – China
  • High Energy Photon Source (HEPS) – China
  • Max-IV Laboratory – Denmark
  • Diamond Light Source – United Kingdom
  • Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste – Italy
  • Synchrotron radiation facility SPring-8 – Japan
  • Advanced Photon Source (APS) – United States
  • Argonne National Laboratory (ANL) – United States
  • NSL-2 – United States
  • Max Born Institute for Nonlinear Optics and Short Pulse Spectroscopy – Germany
  • Synchrotron Bessy – Germany
  • Synchrotron radiation source INDUS II – India
  • Paul Sherrer Institute – Swiss
  • High Energy Accelerator Research Organization KEK – Japan
  • Shimadzu – Japan
  • Tokyo University – Japan
  • RIKEN National Science Institute – Japan
  • Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute (JAERI) – Japan
  • Lasti – Japan
  • Canadian Light Source (CLS) – Canada
  • Toyama University – Japan
  • Saga prefecture – Japan
  • Saga University – Japan
  • Laboratório Nacional de Luz Síncrotron (LNLS) – Brazil
  • National Synchrotron Radiation Research Center (SRRC) – Taiwan

Corporate LINKS

BERTIN TECHNOLOGIES, subsidiary of CNIM Group, relies on its long history of innovative engineering to develop, produce and market systems and instruments worldwide. Among its 450 employees, there are 2/3 engineers and high-level managers. Its 2020 turnover amounts to 78 million euros. Based in Paris Region, the company is active worldwide with offices over the 5 continents. Bertin Technologies is committed to putting industrial innovation at the service of software, systems and products for dedicated markets: Nuclear & Radioprotection, Defense & Security, Health & Life Sciences, Space & Big Science.


Founded in 1856, CNIM is a French equipment manufacturer and industrial contractor operating on a worldwide basis. The Group provides its products and services to major public and private sector organizations, local authorities and national governments in Environment, Energy, Defense, and High Technology markets. Technological innovation is at the core of equipment and services designed and manufactured by the Group. They contribute to produce cleaner and more competitive energy, to limit environmental impacts of industrial activities, to secure sensitive facilities and infrastructures, and to protect individuals and nationstates. CNIM is listed on the Euronext exchange in Paris. It relies on a stable family-based majority shareholding structure committed to its development. The Group employs 2,706 people and had 2020 revenues of €632.9 million in 2020, 47.8% of which was from exports.